CM – Both sides are emotional after a controversial penalty in favor of the Americans at the Solheim Cup


TOLEDO, Ohio – Madelene Sagstrom’s jaw trembled. She struggled to stay calm as she debated a controversial rule decision that ultimately proved the difference – at least in terms of scores – in her team’s afternoon four-ball loss.

Nelly Korda tried her version of events to explain when speaking to a small media corps. With tears in her eyes and trembling, she backed away from the microphone.

The incident in question – one that led to many questions – occurred on the 13th hole of the Korda-Ally Ewing match against Sagstrom and Nanna Koerstz Madsen. < The match was a draw when Korda narrowly missed her eagle putt on the par 5. Korda fell to her knees in disbelief as the ball snuggled against her lip. Or maybe a little behind the hole. Confident that the ball had no chance of eventually falling, Sagstrom quickly picked it up and tossed it back to Korda.

The time of Korda’s ball to settle and Sagstrom scooped it was 5, maybe 6 Seconds. But not 10.

It was most of the first day before there was a rules controversy at the Solheim Cup, but there was a rules controversy.

According to Korda and Ewing, when they turned 13, the two got together. Green left, approached by Missy Jones, a rules officer on the field, who informed them that the rules officers overseeing the broadcast were investigating the matter. And after further review, several rules officials determined that the ball was close enough to the edge of the hole that rule 13.3a of the Rules of Golf should have allowed Korda 10 seconds to approach the ball and see if it could go in / p> « It was picked up so quickly, » said Korda. “I fell on my knees and my ball was already in my hands. I honestly didn’t even see it. « 

Since Sagstrom was viewed as a violation of rule 13.3a, rule 13.3b came into play: Korda’s putt was declared done, an Eagle-3. That won the hole and made it gave the Americans a 1-up lead, the same advantage they had over the rest of the game.

Although Sagstrom, Koerstz Madsen and even European captain Catriona Matthew were pleading their cases, the Euros were over on the 14th tee informed of the final decision.

« It was a pretty blurry picture that we were shown and it was inclusive, I would have said, » Matthew said after Day 1 was over.

« I mean, Madelene believed One hundred percent that she didn’t think the ball had a chance of going in the hole when it picked it up, and I honestly don’t think Nelly or Ally really thought it would go in too. « 

The US and European sides said the last five Löc here are at best « awkward ». What was once a « comfortable » and « talkative » match – perhaps too comfortable because they were put on the clock on the 10th hole – then became largely silent. Except for a few attendees who Sagstrom said had heard comments about the incident. « It was just a little more stuff for picking up the ball and all, » Sagstrom said as her eyes began to narrow to open. « It’s tough on US soil because not all fans are really cheering you on, and when you hear you’re even more wrong, it’s hard. » Both Sagstrom and Korda believed it was true that they didn’t do anything wrong. Not in spite of it, but in defense. Sagstrom wanted to let it be known that she had no doubt that the ball was dead and had no chance of straying from its final resting place. She wanted it to be known that there was no art in the game.

« Of course, I didn’t follow the leaving ball rules for 10 seconds, but I believe in the integrity and honor of the game of golf, and I would never pick up a putt that had a chance to go in, « said Sagstrom, noting that both teams were informed of this rule before the start of the game.

 » Personally, I don’t agree with the decision with the ball on the edge, but I do did not follow the 10 second rule.

Korda, Ewing talk about « uncomfortable » point in Solheim

Korda wanted to know that neither she nor Ewing had anything to do with the decision. You were approached by Jones. Neither she nor her speculated caddies initially brought up a possible violation. And although they may not have believed the ball would fall, they cannot override a rule decision.

« I came down from the green and we were kind of talking, and Missy came up to us and said , i’m calling, i want to check it out. In all honesty, we didn’t even have a say, « said Korda.

To be honest, » didn’t really want to be known « . Both would have rather comforted and healed among their teammates than talked to the media about the open wounds. But as is not always the case in the sports world, they asked the questions and answered every single one they were asked with multiple TV channels and with the press.

If there is any solace for Sagstrom, it’s because your team has a 5½ – 2½ lead on Day 2. If there is consolation for both of them, it is that there is a Day 2 that offers each of them – all four of them, including their Saturday afternoon partner – a chance to write a different narrative.

« Ultimately, » Korda said , « Hopefully we can leave that behind and move forward. »

FROM Mercer Baggs

BY Brentley Romine

BY Amy Rogers

Here’s a look at the pairing of fours on Sunday morning on the second day of the Solheim Cup at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio.

Team USA tried to fight back from their slow start in the morning fours but managed to get in the four-ball games in the afternoon at the 17th Solheim Cup.

It took most of the first day until there was a rule controversy at the Solheim Cup, but there was a rule controversy.


Solheim Cup,Nelly Korda,Leona Maguire,Madelene Sagström,Inverness Club,Solheim Cup, Nelly Korda, Leona Maguire, Madelene Sagström, Inverness Club,,Solheim Cup,Golf,Sport,US sports,,,,

Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: