CM – That Day in 2008: Brendon McCullum gave IPL a flying start


On that day the first game was played in the IPL, a fight between KKR and RCB at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Published: April 18, 2021 3:27 PM |

Last updated: April 18, 2021 3:27 pm

| AA A-

NEW DELHI: On April 18, 2008, a global phenomenon emerged for the first time in the form of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to cement India’s reputation as a powerhouse in cricket played the first game in the IPL, a match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

RCB won the throw and decided to roll first. Little did they know a kiwi batsman was going to take them to the cleaners. KKR got off to a flying start with openers Brendon McCullum and Sourav Ganguly completing 61 runs in just 5.2 overs.

Ganguly (10) was sent back to the pavilion by Zaheer Khan, but McCullum marched on. McCullum pounded the bowlers all over the park, sparing the opposition no mercy. As a result, he took his century through the innings in the 16th century.

Once the feat was brought up, KKR owner Shah Rukh Khan gave him a standing ovation. McCullum didn’t get stuck, however, and added 56 more runs in the last four overs to bring his individual score to 158.

With this stroke, KKR achieved a mammoth value of 222/3 in the allotted twenty overs. KKR then had no trouble defending the result as the RCB team pooled for only 82 runs and won the match by 140 runs. Ajit Agarkar was the KKR bowler’s choice when he came up with the numbers 3-25 returned. This match gave the competition a glorious start as no one had known what the tournament had to offer before it started.

It was the first time players were auctioned off to enter the competition, but in the end this one did Match resolved all myths and satisfied everyone that it was actually about cricket.

In the opening edition, KKR failed to make it to the semi-finals and it was Rajasthan Royals who managed to win the tournament. </ To date, 13 editions of the tournament have been played with the Mumbai Indians winning it five times. Chennai Super Kings has won three times while KKR has managed to claim the title twice.

The 14th edition of the tournament is underway and will be played in six venues in India.

Disclaimer: We respect Your thoughts and views! But we need to be sensible as we moderate your comments. All comments are moderated by the editorial Refrain from posting obscene, defamatory or inflammatory comments and do not indulge in personal attacks. Avoid external hyperlinks within the comment. Help us delete comments that do not comply with these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments posted on are those of the commenters alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its employees, nor do they represent the views or opinions of the New Indian Express Group or any of the New Indian Express Group companies or any of their affiliates. reserves the right to record some or all of the comments at any time.

There are less than 100 ICU beds available in Delhi hospitals and the situation is getting worse moment by moment: Kejriwal

MP shocker: Six COVID-19 patients die in Shahdol hospital from low pressure oxygen

The morning standard | Dinamani | Kannada Prabha | Samakalika Malayalam | Pampering | Edex Live | Cinema Express | Event Xpress

Contact us | About us | Career | Privacy Policy | Search | Terms of Use | Advertise with us

Home | Nation | World | Cities | Business | Columns | Entertainment | Sport | Magazine | The Sunday standard


Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: