World News – CA – NDP wins: top Liberal incumbents Mary Polak, Jas Johal and Sam Sullivan lose seats


Alyse Kotyk
Journalist, CTVNewsVancouverCalifornia


Several high-profile Liberal incumbents in British Columbia fell when John Horgan’s NDP won the party’s first majority government since the 1990s

According to CTV News’ results team, Polak was beaten by NDP candidate Andrew Mercier, a local lawyer

Polak was first elected in 2005, then re-elected in 2009, 2013 and 2017.She served as the House Leader of the Official Opposition and served on several special committees

« We knew it was going to be a tough fight, » Polak said after the result

“If we look at the whole, we made choices and one of those choices was to cooperate with the government with the Greens and the NDP throughout the COVID-19 pandemic Now, has that got us – he hurt electorally? Probably But it was always the right decision to take « 

Mercier sits on the Board of Governors of the University of the Fraser Valley and is a member of the City of Langley Crime Prevention Task Force He ran for City Council in 2018 and as the Member of Parliament for Langley Constituency in 2013

« As affordability issues become more prevalent among families, they are moving to the Fraser Valley, » said Dianne Watts, former mayor and MP for Surrey and member of the electoral committee for CTV News on Saturday evening.

Langley East was a Liberal stronghold in British Columbia, previously owned by former Deputy Prime Minister Rich Coleman for 24 years Coleman stepped down and his replacement, Margaret Kunst, has faced significant criticism this year for voting against a symbolically favorable rainbow crosswalk as Councilor for the Township of Langley

Outgoing Liberal MP Sam Sullivan lost his Vancouver-False Creek seat to NDP, CTV News results team says

Sullivan claimed a victory in 2017 with just 415 votes, but the former Vancouver mayor faced a tough opponent in NDP’s Brenda Bailey

Bailey is an entrepreneur who started her first business in the riding in 2004 and then launched the first woman-owned video game studio in Canada.

Sullivan has been the spokesperson for social development and poverty reduction Before being first elected in 2013, Sullivan was 38th mayor of Vancouver from 2006 to 2009 and city councilor of Vancouver from 1993 to 2005

Since the creation of the riding of Vancouver False-Creek in 2008, it has always been represented by the Liberals

Extinction Rebellion spokesperson Maayan Kreitzman showed up in the Greens constituency, while body shop owner Erik Gretland represented the Tories

Prominent incumbent Liberal candidate for Richmond-Queensborough lost his seat to NDP candidate Aman Singh, according to CTV News results team

Johal was first elected in 2017, when he defeated Singh by just 134 votes Johal served as critic for economic development, competitiveness, trade and technology

Singh, a well-known human and civil rights lawyer in the riding, has lived in BC since 1988

« It is an honor to be elected as the next Member of Parliament for Richmond-Queensborough I am very grateful to all of the people who have taken the time to speak to me over the past few weeks and have shared with me the issues they and their families are facing. confronted, ”Singh said in an emailed statement after the results were announced.

“As the first Turbaned Sikh to be elected to the Legislature, I am proud to join John Horgan and the BC NDP in Victoria and look forward to working for my community »

CTV News predicts a majority government victory for the NDP, and as of 11:45 a.m. CTV News also declared the NDP winners in the following Liberal seats:

Liberal incumbents Jas Johal, Sam Sullivan and Mary Polak both lost their seats in the B 2020C election (File photos)

BC votes: CTV News’ 2020 election hub

CTV News declares NDP majority in BC election

BC Election 2020: live results for all 87 ridings

NDP wins: High-profile Liberal incumbents Mary Polak, Jas Johal and Sam Sullivan lose seats

Conservative leader Trevor Bolin fails to win Peace River North seat

BC election results for Vancouver Island; Horgan wins majority government

«  As long as it takes  »: no ​​timetable for the final count of votes in BC election

8 BC ridings to watch on election night

What are the main electoral promises of the 3 main parties?

Interactive map: Here’s a look at how BC voted in the last provincial election

BC election: find out who is running in your riding with this interactive map

Election of BC 2020, Election of BC, Election results of the C h3>

News from the world – CA – NDP wins: top Liberal incumbents Mary Polak, Jas Johal and Sam Sullivan lose seats


Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: